Fort Aguada and its lighthouse is an all around protected seventeenth-century Portuguese fort remaining in Goa, India, on Sinquerim Beach, neglecting the Arabian Sea. The fortress was built in 1612 to prepare for the Dutch and the Marathas. It was a reference point for the vessels originating from Europe around then. This old Portuguese post remains on the shoreline south of Candolim, at the shore of the Mandovi River. It was at first entrusted with resistance of delivery and the close-by Bardez sub area.
A freshwater spring inside the fortress gave water supply to the boats that used to stop by. This is the manner by which the fort got its name: Aguada, which means Water. Teams of passing boats would frequently visit to recharge their new water stores. On the fortress stands a four-story Portuguese beacon, raised in 1864 and the most seasoned of its sort in Asia. Stronghold Aguada was the most prized and significant fortress of Portuguese. The post is large to the point that it wraps the whole landmass at the south western tip of Bardez. Based on the mouth of waterway Mandovi, it was deliberately found and was the central barrier of Portuguese against the Dutch and Marathas.
Amid the Salazar Administration, Fort Aguada was repurposed for use as a jail basically, some case, for Salazar’s political rivals. The four-story beacon, one of the most seasoned of its sort, was once used to transmit light once in 7 seconds, before being surrendered in 1976. The story proceeds to state that amid the rule of Portugal Prime Minister Antnio de Oliveira Salazar in the twentieth century, the stronghold was repurposed to be utilized as a jail for political rivals. Keep in mind, Goa remained a Portuguese region until 1961 preceding the addition procedure by India.
Today, the stronghold stands tall, an observer to the long periods of the Goan history – the long stretches of the Portuguese standard and the addition from that point, the political disturbance and social clashes, the general population and the boats.
The fort remains open on all days of the week from 9.30am to 6.00pm.